Recipe of the Month: Bite Size Banana Balls

Yep, you read that right.

Banana. Balls. Every bite is the best one.

Now that I have your attention…

 I got this recipe from a friend who got the recipe from The Burlap Bag blog.

Basically, this is a banana based cookie or snack bite. With the exception of the bananas, the other ingredients are totally up to you.

I followed the recipe almost completely. Here is my take on the recipe.

The original recipe uses oats as their main dry ingredient. I chose to use quinoa flakes.

Main Ingredients:

2 large bananas

1 cup of oats (or quinoa)

Optional Ingredients:

A handful of:

Chocolate chips (or carob)

dried fruit

Nuts

Really, you could add any dry ingredient of your choosing. I used mixed berries and golden raisins from Trader Joe’s. (I love that place). I also used unsweetened coconut flakes and bittersweet chocolate chips.

Ok, let’s make some balls. (I’m sorry, I’m a child. I know this).

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

 

First mix the bananas and the grain. The batter should be dough like, but if it feels too dry or too runny that can be adjusted. (I actually added about a quarter more banana towards the end of mixing to even it out).

Then add whatever optional ingredients you chose.

Roll the batter out and put it on a NON STICK baking sheet. This can get a little messy, but just roll with it. (Yep, I too, can be punny sometimes). Put the sheet in the oven for about 15 minutes (I ended up doing about 17 minutes).

They should be pretty solid and a nice, golden brown when done. You should get about 12-15 balls out of one recipe.

Let them cool for a minute or two, and then enjoy! You can also refrigerate them for a week or two. Banana balls make a great to-go sweet treat.

When you try this, let me know how it goes in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

