Recipe of the Month – Mixed Berry Almond Milk Quick Bread (or Muffins)

Since stormaggedon started 2 days ago, I’ve been cooking and baking like crazy. This morning I woke up really wanting to make berry muffins. Of course, I changed my mind mid bake…

img_20170212_155359

The idea to make muffins came from a bag of frozen mixed berries. It’s been sitting in my freezer for about a month waiting to be made into something delicious. Unfortunately, the mix includes cranberries, so it wasn’t getting used in my morning smoothies.

I decided on muffins because berry muffins of any flavor are so delish! I scrolled through my cookbooks and decided on a recipe from Eat Like a Gilmore by Kristi Carlson. (If you don’t own this cookbook, you are missing out, ps). Her blueberry muffin recipe was inspirational, although I made a few changes.

img_20170212_144910

Instead of whole milk, I used almond. Instead of of olive oil, I used grapeseed oil. Instead of sour cream, I used non fat plain Greek yogurt and instead of blueberries, I used my mixed bag. I also doubled the recipe.

Now because I used yogurt and a berry mix including cranberries, I added 1/4 cup of sugar. (So doubled that would be 2 and 1/2 c total).

After I finished mixing in the berries, I looked at the size of the cranberries in the batter and decided making quick loaf bread would be better than muffins. Honestly, you can make either one and it will still taste splendid!

Ok, so ingredients: (the measurements below have NOT been doubled)

2 c Flour

1 1/4 c Sugar

1/2 t Salt

1 1/2 t Baking Powder

1 t Baking Soda

1 Egg

1/3 c Grapeseed Oil (or oil of your choice)

2/3 c Plain Greek Yogurt

1/2 c Almond Milk

6 oz (3/4 c) Mixed Berries (or berries of your choice)

2 T Brown Sugar for sprinkling on top (optional)

img_20170212_135754

Instructions:

For Muffins – preheat oven to 400. Grease large muffin tins and set aside. You’ll end up baking the muffins for about 15-20 minutes.

For Quick Bread – preheat oven to 350. Grease your loaf pan and set aside. You’ll end up baking the bread for about 60-70 minutes.


Ok, first combine all your dry ingredients – flour, sugar, baking soda, salt and baking powder, in a separate bowl and set aside.

Then in your mixing bowl, lightly whisk the egg. Next, add in the yogurt, oil, and milk. Mix gently until smooth. The original recipe says to mix with a fork, but I used my mixer on the lowest setting and it was fine.

Lastly, slowly add in the dry ingredients. Don’t overmix. Then fold in your berries. This part I did do by hand. It’s just easier. I used a flat spatula, which I also used to spoon the batter into my loaf pan.

img_20170212_141036

When you fill your muffin tins or your loaf pan, you only want to fill it about 2/3 of the way, so that it doesn’t spill over and make a mess in the oven.

**For either muffins or quick bread – you can sprinkle a little brown sugar on top of the batter before putting it in the oven. Pro tip – for muffins, put tin foil over the top of the tin for the last 8 minutes of baking. For bread, put tin foil over the top for the last 20 minutes. This prevents the top of the bake from overbrowning.**

If you made muffins, put them in for 15 minutes and then test them by sticking a toothpick in the center of one. If the toothpick comes out clean, the muffins are done. Let them cool for 10 minutes before removing them from the tin.

If you made quick bread, put the pan in the oven for 60 minutes before testing with a toothpick. Let it cool for about 10-12 minutes before removing it from the pan.

Enjoy!

img_20170212_153422

Leave a Reply

