POUND® Class: 2017’s Newest Fitness Obsession

Anyone who watches NBC’s This Is Us, will know exactly what I’m talking about when I mention going to POUND®. I’ve gone twice now to this latest workout craze and I can definitely understand the obsession.

(Photo credit: NBC, This Is Us)

First, what in the name of Hades is POUND®?

Well, according to the official website, “Designed for all fitness levels, POUND® provides the perfect atmosphere for letting loose, getting energized, toning up and rockin’ out! Using Ripstix®, lightly weighted drumsticks engineered specifically for exercising…this exhilarating full-body workout…combines cardio, conditioning, and strength training with yoga and pilates-inspired movements.”

Ok, so basically, you get to HIT SHIT.

Seriously, it’s pretty fun. There’s awesome music, neon green drumsticks and an excuse to literally pound on the floor.

DISCLAIMER:

I was crazy sore after my first class. #worthit.

After my second class however, I felt on top of the world. It was a much smaller class the second time around and it was perfect. Since POUND® is still so new, not many people in my neighborhood know about it. (Fine by me because I am guaranteed ripsticks and space in every class).

The class was an hour long and man do you move! You’re standing, squatting and stretching until you feel like jelly and you SWEAT. Not that sexy girl glow sweat, but that beat red, salt in your eyes, locker room smell, sweat.

The instructor was incredible too. Krystina Sullo from the Lynch Van Otterloo YMCA, demonstrated all the moves before making us do them. She also offered modifications to each exercise, which was great because I was definitely feeling like a total newb.

Oh and it gets loud with all that drumming. I was literally putting tiny nicks into the floor. (Sorry, not sorry). If you had a bad day or are just looking to take out some aggression on something, this class is for you. I personally can’t wait to go back.

Right now, at least near me, POUND® is only offered once a week in the evening, but if more people start going and discovering this awesomeness for themselves then more classes will be added and we can all go more often!

Check out the official  POUND® website for more information and find a class. I promise you will not regret it! If you’ve tried  POUND®, let me know what you think in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

