DIY Cucumber Body Scrub

I’ve been on a serious DIY beauty kick recently. The one thing I haven’t tried to make is body scrub. With a nearly expired cucumber in my fridge, I took to Google and did a little research. With so many recipes out there, I ended up experimenting a little with this one from Mom in Music City (MIMC). 

(photo credit: MIMC)

Disclaimer:

I followed the above recipe to the letter and it was kind of a fail, so the recipe below has been adapted from the original.

Ingredients:

1/2 a cucumber (peeled if you want, optional)

granulated sugar (I used brown)

1 Tbsp Olive Oil (her recipe calls for 2)

5 drops of an essential oil of your choice (I used lavender)

OK, so I had a little over half a cucumber left, so I just used all of it. If you do this, you’ll need to adjust the amount of the other ingredients to compensate for thickness.

The original recipe tells you to blend the cucumber until its liquid. DON’T. I did this and it threw off the consistency of the whole thing. My recommendation is to pulse the cucumber in your blender or food processor until it’s a pasty consistency.

Next add the sugar. I used brown because it’s a bit coarser. The original recipe calls for 3/4 cup. In total, I probably ended up using about 2 cups but this was because I was trying to make it thicker.

Now, the original recipe from MIMC calls for 2 tablespoons of olive oil. That’s what I used, but when I make this again, I’m going to use less. Start with a tablespoon and see how the consistency is. If you think you need more liquid, then add the second tablespoon.

Lastly, add your essential oil. I love lavender, but you could use tree oil, sandalwood, grapefruit, whatever oil makes your skin happy.

This is my second batch. The first batch was super runny. If you use brown sugar, you are going to get a darker colored scrub. Don’t let the color freak you out, it still has all the benefits.

This really is a very easy body scrub to make. There are only 4 ingredients. The only challenge is getting the consistency right. But even a little runny, the scrub works. I took a quick shower to test this out and first, I smell delicious. However, more importantly, my skin feels refreshed and soft. Especially during winter, that is top priority.

Look at that natural glow! Haha. Have any of you ever made your own beauty products? I am always looking to try new recipes. Share your experiences in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

