New Year’s Resolutions Are Bull$h!t (Sort of)

And here’s why. By the end of February, the resolution has been forgotten and you’ve just finished the 3rd box of chocolates that you bought half price for yourself on February 15th. (That post comes later).

The definition of resolution is the firm decision to do or not to do something. The definition of a goal is the desired result of a person’s effort or aim.

calvin-hobbes-new-years-resolutions
(Photo credit: Bill Watterson, Pinterest)

It’s not that resolutions are not important but they don’t stand up by themselves. You need to set smaller, more attainable goals throughout the year to be able to stick to that general resolution you made while drinking your 4th glass of champagne on the roof of your friend’s dad’s partner’s company building. (Never happened mom).

These are the top 10 resolutions people make each year:

1. Get fit/Eat healthier

2. Spend less, save more

3. Find true love (this is not the Notebook)

4. Travel more (sort of contradicts #2)

5. Spend more time with family/friends

6. Quit smoking/drinking/etc

7. Volunteer more/Be kind (you should already be doing this one)

8. Be less stressed

9. Get organised

10. Live life to the fullest (gag me)

Image result for resolution

Ok, admittedly some of those sound reasonable. But how many of those will you really be able to keep for 365 days? One reason people fail is because they try to go too big too fast. By making several changes at once or going too far with even just one change, you’re guaranteed to fail.

Think about it – if you resolve to workout every day and completely change your diet, how long before you injure yourself, get sick or worse – get bored?

And if you resolve to find love and get engaged (or worse, married) by year’s end, how quickly and desperately will you search before you become known as the crazy, desperate true love guy (or girl)?

And honestly, what the hell does live life to the fullest even mean? Way to be vague.

Here are some pro tips that I learned in the last 2 years:

1. Set small, specific goals. (I feel like I’m repeating myself). 

2.  Don’t beat yourself up if you haven’t reached your goal by a certain point. 

3. Sometimes the resolutions are going to change or adapt. It’s ok.

4. Make sure you have fun (at least most of the time).

5. When (not if) you achieve your resolution, be proud of yourself.

Image result for baby making a fist

Ok, perfect example. I set out in 2015 to run my first marathon. I joined a running club and trained in small intervals. I will never be the fastest or the greatest runner. (In most cases, I was the fattest and the slowest). HOWEVER – October 10th 2015, I ran (and walked) the Chicago marathon. I finished and everything.

2015-10-11_16-35-24

While my time wasn’t great and my legs hurt about as bad as I imagine childbirth to be, I finished. And I’d even run another one someday. It was fun.

Take your resolution in steps. To be healthier, start with one thing. Get really good at it and after a few weeks, add another thing. Being healthier will lead to being less stressed.

To find true love, you must first love yourself. If you do, then you’ll find “the one”. Without even really trying that hard. Put yourself out there. Maybe travel somewhere new.

This is something I need to work on. I’m shy (seriously, I am) and hate going out. So my resolution this year is to meet new people. I’ve set a goal of going out at least once a week, somewhere. Anywhere.

If you want to budget your money, ask yourself if you really need another pair of sparkly red pumps? (YES. The answer is almost always YES). Or maybe check out a thrift store. Second hand shops are the BEST!

Whatever your resolution, don’t forget to set some goals to go with it. And don’t forget to have fun and allow yourself to fail along the way.

Image result for adorable animals

I resolve to look at pictures like this for at least the next 4 years.

Let me know in the comments about your resolutions. How do you plan to stick with them this year? Oh and Happy New Year everyone!!

Leave a Reply

