Recipe of the Month – Ginger Banana Nut Bread

I was so busy baking, I almost forgot to post!!

This is probably one of my favorite recipes. Banana bread is so delicious and so easy to make. I love it so much that I decided to force it on everyone else this year instead of fruit cake. (Do people even bake that anymore? Blech)!

(Banana bread with cocoa spread = delicious)

When I started making this recipe, I followed to the letter The Joy of Cooking Cookbook. As I got better at baking this bread, I have taken some liberties and put my own spin on the bread.

The first thing you want to do is get all your ingredients together.

Here is the recipe directly from the cookbook with my adaptations in parentheses.

Ingredients:

1 1/4 c all purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

5 1/3 tablespoon unsalted butter

2/3 cup sugar

2 large eggs, lightly beaten

(1/2 teaspoon ginger)

(1/4 teaspoon nutmeg)

(1/4 teaspoon cinnamon)

1 cup mashed ripe bananas (I like to wait until the bananas start to turn brown)

1/2 cup chopped walnuts or pecans (I use brazil nuts. They have great flavor)

(1/2 cup chocolate chips. I only do this when I am making the bread for myself)

Start by preheating the oven to 350 degrees and take the butter out of the fridge.

Whisk the salt, flour, baking soda and baking powder together in a small bowl.

Put that to the side and in your mixer beat on high the butter and the sugar. If you don’t have a mixer, (I didn’t when I started), you can beat by hand but soften the butter for about 10 seconds in the microwave first.

When the butter and sugar mix are lightened in color and texture, blend in the flour mix. When you get to the consistency of brown sugar, (a little gritty) slowly beat in the eggs.

img_20161218_165151

After a minute or 2, fold in gently the bananas and nuts. If you decided to add in the spices like I did, then throw them in now with the final ingredients.

I like the spices because they give the bread a nice little kick in flavor.

Scrape the batter into the pan (or little bread loaves) and spread evenly. Bake until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, about 50-60 minutes.

Let the bread cool in the tins for about 8 minutes before removing and put them on a cooling rack.

(Note: the above picture is the recipe doubled. You probably won’t have that much batter with the original recipe).

When the bread has cooled, if you are giving it to friends or family for the holidays, then you can wrap it nicely in paper or cellophane. (I hate plastic so I use wax paper and tissue paper to create a nice little gift package).

And that’s it. If you’re not giving loaves as gifts, now you can slice and enjoy. Banana bread is amazing with nutella.

Have a wonderful and safe holiday everyone!

Image result for happy holidays

Leave a Reply

