Ugly Holiday Sweaters for Everyone!

Deck the halls with our ugly sweaters, 

Fa, la, la, la, la, la, la, la, la!

Admit it, you started singing. Tis the season folks! Time for all the holiday sweater parties to begin. Will you be ready? You could be with just a little help from this here elf.

befunky-collage

Now you could always buy an ugly sweater, but finding the perfect one in time for the office holiday party is never easy. I prefer to DIY mine.

Also, I celebrate Christmas, but there are supplies available for a generic holiday look as well as Hanukkah. So whatever you celebrate, you can rock the ugly sweater.

You want to start by finding a great base sweater. Choose a color of your liking and then search for the accessories. Sweater first, embellishments second. Iron on or sew on patches are always fun. Also, last year I found ugly sweater pins at Barnes and Noble and I use them every year now.

Try your local craft store. Michael’s is where I got all of my supplies and right now everything is 50% off in store and online.

img_20161211_154927

Just a note, I did not end up using all the above supplies on my sweater, but I will probably make some fun accessories later this week with the ribbon and bells.

The first thing I did was cut out the iron on patches and place them where I wanted them to go. Planning your design first is crucial. Like the saying goes, measure twice, cut once. You can always change your design so long as it’s not permanently affixed.

img_20161211_170607

When using iron on patches, follow the ironing instructions on the back of the package. Whenever I deviate from said instructions, the patches never work out as well. In this case, I washed the sweater on cold first and then used a cotton cloth to lay over the patches and ironed them on.

The only thing I did differently from the instructions is that I ironed them for longer than the 10-15 seconds it calls for. When working with heavier materials like a sweater, it will take longer for the patches to affix.

Next, I added on my ugly sweater pins.

img_20161211_181722

Add as much or as little as you want. This was my sweater last year.

img_20141121_204159

There was a lot more on it and yes, it did indeed light up. This year I decided to go a little more subtle, but like I said, I’ll probably make a few jewelry accessories. A bell bracelet and some ornament earrings, etc, etc. (Pictures to come)!

Anyway, here is my 2016 Ugly Sweater finished and ready to rock the holidays.

img_20161211_183357 img_20161211_183257

How ever you decorate your sweater, have fun. Remember it’s supposed to be a little nutty and definitely a little “ugly”.

Wishing you all a happy and safe holidays!

holiday_cheer___winter_night_by_doodlediddy

Leave a Reply

