Top 5 Excuses To Not Be Healthy

How many of you have ever said “I’m too tired, too bored, too injured”, to get healthy?
That’s so weird. Me too!

Let me preface by saying I have ZERO medical or health and wellness training. I am simply writing about my experiences and my excuses and what has worked for me to get off my couch and put down the Red Vines.

Hopefully, some or all of this helps you too.

no

Being healthy is not just about going to the gym. It’s about being a more well balanced version of yourself. I have used every one of these excuses at least once in the last year. Being healthy can be overwhelming. Don’t try to do everything at once. Start with one excuse and cross it off your reason why not list.

1. I’m Too Tired to Workout

woman-falling-asleep-gym-isolated-white-78344728

This is the excuse I use most often. After a long day at work, who really wants to go to the gym for another hour or more? Honestly, the first step is making sure you are getting enough sleep for you. For me, I am good with about 5 hours. If you are having trouble sleeping, talk to your doctor.

A lack of energy can make us sleepy but working out and eating right can give us that energy back. One thing I did at the very beginning of my journey was to park as far away from store or work entrances as possible. Eventually, I added going to the gym 2x a week. What I found was that when I worked out, I actually slept better at night than when I didn’t work out.

2. Eating Healthy is Too Much Work and Money

Not true. I totally thought this in the beginning, but then I began shopping around. For me, Googling stores and healthy recipes worked. I also talked to the super healthy people in my life for their advice. Whole Foods has some pretty good sales, but yes they are more expensive. Trader Joe’s is a bit less expensive, but it’s possible to eat healthy from your own grocery stores.

The key is to plan. Planning does take some time and work, but again, start small. Portion control is a huge part of eating healthy. Most people know what the “right types” of food are but being aware of just how much we eat is important too. Tupperware is your best friend. When I buy pretzels or trail mix at the store, I immediately come home and portion it out. It takes maybe an extra minute. I just grab and go in the morning which takes no time at all.

3. I don’t Have Time

Image result for not enough time

 I get it. Life amiright? One thing I do to combat time is keeping a gym bag in my car. I go 2 or 3 times a week to the gym right after work instead of going home. We all know that the second you get home, you either get busy with stuff around the house or the couch sucks you in and doesn’t let go.

I also joined a gym with a monthly fee. Now that my hard earned dollars are being spent, I feel obligated to make the most of it. If the gym is not an option, go for a walk/run/ride with a coworker right before or after work. An hour long workout is only 4% of your day. It doesn’t even have to be consecutive. Break it up. Park really far from your office door  in the morning and then take a walk at lunch or on your break. Something is better than nothing.

4. The Gym is Boring

Image result for so bored at the gym
(Photo credit: Bustle.com)

Have you ever walked into a gym and felt like it was just a bunch of robots on machines? Yep. Recently, I rejoined the YMCA because I missed the group classes. I like the variety of classes offered. I highly recommend finding a YMCA near you. I realize that the Y is more expensive than some of the other fitness options out there. But there is financial assistance available to those who qualify and what I just realized recently is that the Y is a network. Belonging to one means you can usually work out at other YMCAs too. There are rules and restrictions, so check with your local facility.

Also, mix it up. Try a zumba class one week and a kickboxing class another. Do some cardio on day 1 and conditioning on day 2. If you start to get bored, get outdoors. Fresh air is never boring.

5. I Can’t Do That

Image result for animals who just gave up

In January, I injured my hip and knee while running. I did the PT and got better, but I was still using that as an excuse to not push myself as hard as I knew I could. If you have or had an injury, talk to your doctor before starting any new activity.

Don’t let it be an excuse though. Swimming, bike riding and yoga are awesome, low impact activities that can actually help an injury get better. Also, talk to the class instructor or staff at your gym because they can help you modify your workout.

When it comes to food, don’t diet (unless your doctor has said to). I am ANTI-Diet. When you go cold turkey from something, there is a higher risk of relapse. Don’t try to change everything at once. It can be overwhelming.

I have a major sweet tooth, so I gave up one thing – artificial flavoring. No more skittles, starbursts, food coloring etc. I have yet to give up on chocolate or ice cream. I still love bacon and string cheese. But now I only eat bacon when I visit my parents. I don’t buy it for myself. In my house, the rule is: if it’s not there, it can’t tempt me.

img_20150812_174621
Strong Like Bull

Whatever you do, don’t give up. The trick to being healthy is to take it one day at a time. Getting sleep, eating right and exercising are not impossible things to do. They are work though. Start with one area and when you are feeling confident with it, add another area. Before you know it, you’re going to feel great.

I started doing yoga after my injury. That really helped me with my sleep and stress level. Then I started to make small changes to my diet and in just the last week or so, I have seriously upped my workout game. I may have binged on pie this weekend, but I’ll be back at it tomorrow.

Whatever you do, it’s about knowing yourself and not giving up.

Let me know in the comments below what your healthy strategies are! I’d love to hear tips and success stories from my readers!

Leave a Reply

