Recipe of the Month – Apple Tarts à La Mode

There is so much to be thankful for this year our families, friends, food on our tables and the Gilmore Girls. I am very thankful for the Gilmore Girls. On November 25th, Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life will be premiering on Netflix. So in honor of both holidays (and yes, a Gilmore Girls marathon is a holiday), I decided to make the Apple Tarts from Kristi Carlson’s cookbook, Eat Like a Gilmore

Don’t fill up too much on turkey because these tarts would be a perfect dessert for the Thanksgiving table.

This recipe is fairly easy, but I still made a few modifications, mostly for time reasons. One major change I made was I didn’t make my own crust. I used Pillsbury pie dough. If you have time, making the pie crust recipe is not difficult, just a little time consuming.

The recipe below is the tart recipe using pre made dough.

First, the ingredients:

– 5-6 apples

(the cookbook uses fuji, but use which ever apple makes you happy. I like McIntosh).

– pillsbury pie dough

(if you keep it in the freezer, take it out first thing so it has time to defrost a bit).

– 8 T brown sugar

– 8 T sugar

– 8 T butter

(You can play with the amount of sugar and butter. I actually started with only 6 T of each, but realized I would need more sauce because my tart pans are slightly bigger than standard pans).

– cinnamon

The most time consuming part of this is preparing the apples and rolling out the dough. Once those things are ready, cooking the apples and bake time are only about 20 minutes. Be prepared to get a little messy btw.

Alrighty, let’s get baking.

Step 1: Preheat oven to 400. Take your crusts out of the freezer or fridge.

Step 2: Peel and slice your apples. The best kitchen device I’ve ever bought is my apple corer. It makes slicing my apples so easy. The slices should be pretty thin. Basically, you want the apples to be able to fit into your tart pans.

Step 3: Roll out the crust and ready your tart pans. I used my tart pan to cut the dough. I flipped it over like I was tracing it and made sure to leave myself about 1/4 inch edge. Before I press the dough into the pan though, I lightly greased them with a little butter. This helps keep the crust from sticking. Once you press the crust into the pan, use kitchen scissors to cut the extra dough. You want there to be a little over the edge crust but not quite as much as in the picture below.

Step 4: Once the crusts are ready in the tart pans, put them in the oven for about 10-15 minutes. This is called blind baking. It helps your crusts get a nice golden brown and an even bake.

Step 5: While the dough is baking, melt your butter in a sauce pan. Add in the sugars and stir. After the butter is pretty well melted, toss in the apples and continue stirring. Make sure all the apple slices are coated in the sugary sauce. This takes about 10 minutes.

Step 6: Once the blind bake is done, take the pans out and using a slotted spoon, scoop the apples into each pan. Then pour enough sauce to come up to about 3/4 to the edge.

Step 7: Put the tart pans on a cookie sheet. Trust me, this is the messiest bit because the sauce will bubble in the oven and YOU DO NOT want to have to scrub your oven later.

Step 8: Bake the tarts. The cookbook says to bake them for about 8 minutes, but I kept them in for 10. It really depends on your oven. This is why an internal oven thermometer is so important because some ovens heat up quickly or not quickly enough.

Step 9: Allow the tarts to cool for about 10 minutes, sprinkle some cinnamon on top and then scoop some ice cream onto a plate and serve. I am a huge fan of Sweet Scoops Madagascar Vanilla. Enjoy!

Be sure to tune into Netflix on November 25th for the premiere of Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life and have a safe and happy Thanksgiving everyone!

Leave a Reply

