Sookie’s Pineapple Cranberry Chutney Served With a Side of Nostalgia

“Sookie: A zucchini tush?
Jackson: Just a temporary name.
Sookie: You want me to serve my customers a genetically engineered vegetable that’s named after a butt?”

In October 2000, my world changed when the Gilmore Girls premiered. The witty banter, the lovable characters, and the quaint town of Stars Hollow became my home away from home every Thursday for 7 seasons. Any true Gilmore fan can tell you that food played an important role on the show. Lorelei and Rory were always eating. (Oh, to have their metabolisms).

Well today, the world celebrates!

Thanks to Kristi Carlson, a world-class chef and super fan, there is a cookbook dedicated to Luke’s Diner, Sookie’s EVERYTHING, Emily’s 4 course menus, Al’s Pancake World, and so many more. I had the great honor of being able to test 2 recipes. The first was Sookie’s Pineapple Cranberry Chutney.

(Check out my Patty Melt experience here).

gilmore
(Photo credit: Bonnie Matthews and Jay Andrino)

Ok, so I’ve never made chutney before. I was nervous going into this because I wasn’t even sure what chutney was. But I love Sookie and I love pineapple, so I figured I’d give it a whirl. (What could possibly go wrong)?

If you want the full recipe, you’re going to have to buy the cookbook. Trust me, buy the cookbook. IT’S AMAZING and MOUTHWATERING.

In the meantime, I’ll give you a sneak peek under the lid of my dutch oven…

20161022_153051

I tested this recipe twice because I am O.C.D. but it was worth it because I gave some of the chutney to my co-workers and got rave reviews. (Thank you Sookie St. James for making me look like a culinary BAMF).

 20161022_160630

While this recipe was so much easier than I thought, there were a couple of things that I adapted. One thing that I changed was the pineapple.

The original recipe calls for fresh, which I think is great if it’s readily available. However, here in New England, fresh pineapple is expensive and hard to find. I ended up using canned pineapple (in it’s own juice). It was more economical for me and personally, I thought it tasted delicious.

The other modification I made was the heat. There are many options available for hot peppers, so depending on your taste preferences, adjust accordingly. I prefer more mild, so I went with jalapeno rather than serrano or habenjaro.

20161022_151734-1

In the end, both tests were tasty and I have enough chutney to get me through the 6 hour Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life marathon that my mom and I will be having on November 25th.

Thank you Kristi Carlson for your brilliance and dedication to the culinary arts. Also, thank you for your trust and confidence in my abilities to do justice to a Sookie original.

Don’t forget to get your copy of Eat Like a Gilmore today and start feasting like a true Gilmore Girl!

20161022_151734

Leave a Reply

