Living That Cruelty Free Life

I love food. I love make up. I love fashion. And I love animals. So how can I live a fabulous yet fur free life? It’s much easier than I initially thought.

Let me start by saying I will probably never give up eating meat. I’m sorry to all the non-meat eaters but I love chicken and turkey and I can never give up ice cream or milk. Having admitted that, I have made some changes in my lifestyle that are easy for anyone to make.

The easiest change to make is clothing (at least in my opinion). I can’t afford to buy some of the more expensive brands of organic outfits, like Prana or Rodale’s. Instead, I shop secondhand. I would say about 95% of my closet comes from thrift stores and clothing swaps.

In my Splurge Vs SaveI talk about finding some amazing pieces secondhand, including brand new, tags still on them for very little money. The best thing about thrift stores is that you are recycling those clothes and keeping them out of the landfills.

The 2 pairs of pants and the skirt came from thrift stores. The khaki pants on the right still have the tags on them. If you’re still not sure about going secondhand, just take a look at Urban Outfitters’s Urban Renewal Collection. This line is made of all vintage and upcycled garments.

Ok, so sustainable clothing, check. Next, let’s talk beauty products.

Being a tree hugger, I didn’t simply toss out all my non vegan make-up. I have been slowly weeding out my collection though. I’ve donated items like moisturiser and eye shadow to friends and family. I’ve been using my nail polish to paint, which is available for purchase on my Etsy shop. All the profits will benefit the ASPCA.

As I run out of my beauty products, I have been replacing them with cruelty-free items like Urban Decay and Fiona Stiles both available at Ulta. For a complete list of vegan and cruelty-free products, check out Cruelty-Free Kitty. Her blog is amazing with all sorts of great resources for animal friendly and earth friendly products and she updates her lists regularly.

My new favourite – Fiona Stiles Ultimate Lash Icon Volumizing Mascara in Burgundy

I have also found some great products at Target. Brands like Wet n Wild and Pixi are inexpensive, cruelty-free and awesome!

I’ve also switched hair products. I’ve been using Shea Moisture products for almost 2 years now. Shea Moisture has helped my crazy curls stay cute and controlled! Watch out for a Shea Moisture Spotlight post coming soon.

screenshot-2016-10-16-at-1-29-12-pm
My 2 favourite collections. They have so many to choose from.

Ok, beauty products check. On to the best part; food!

As I mentioned, I’ll probably never completely give up meat. What I have done is switch to grass-fed, ethically sourced meats and dairy products. I try with all my heart to buy locally sourced foods like bread and vegetables. I’ve also almost completely stopped eating cheese. Occasionally I throw some Feta on a salad, but I just don’t desire it anymore. I thought it would be hard, but I’m saving a ton of money and my digestive system thanks me.

I won’t lie. Eating locally sourced, organic food can be more expensive. But not always. The key is to ask. Don’t be afraid to ask the person behind the deli counter where your favourite products are from or how they are processed. Market Basket is the grocery store near me and the prices are wicked low. They sell several local brands and the deli guy and I are practically on a first name basis.

When I do buy from speciality vendors, I always look for local sources. The USDA has a helpful search guide to find farms in your area. Local Harvest and Eat Wild are also great sources for finding local, ethically sourced food. Farmers markets have a plethora of organic, local options.

Since I made the switch to more organic food, I’ve noticed a major difference in my energy, mood and sleep patterns. Without all the additives or extra processing, my body feels much cleaner. My soul feels lighter somehow.

Alright, stepping off my organic soapbox now. Honestly, start small. Pick one aspect of your lifestyle that you are able and willing to change. You’ll feel a positive difference almost immediately. I promise.

Are any of my readers on the cruelty free path? What sort of changes did you make in your life? Any tips or tricks? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

