The 4 Essential Makeup Products

Makeup companies really know how to get you. The shiny packaging, colorful arrays, and sparkling signage just scream, “take my money!” While I can definitely be drawn in by the beauty of the makeup counters, I really don’t need or ever use all of it.

13920494_1680969258891812_2227700574500181401_o

There are only 4 makeup products that I will never go without. Like, never, EVER.

As someone with super fair and sensitive skin, I have tried EVERY type of concealer and foundation and tinted moisturizer ever made. They all felt awful.

Then I discovered Rimmel. Rimmel became my skin’s BFFL. I love how light both the primer and the BB cream feel on my face. Added bonus, it hasn’t made me break out or given me any weird rashes (thanks for that Revlon btw).

My first essential product: Rimmel Stay Matte Primer

Screenshot 2016-08-14 at 5.55.39 PM

I get it from Target for $6.49

I love the primer because it feels so light and hydrating. The matte primer is my fave because I have serious shine issues in my T-zone and chin area and I don’t need more. I’ve tried other primers, but Rimmel is the best at keeping my makeup in place all day long.

I follow up the primer with another essential: Rimmel BB Cream Matte – Light

I have tried so many foundations and tinted moisturizers prior to this. They all felt too heavy and greasy. I also couldn’t find one that really stayed on all day and into the evening or one that perfectly matched my skin tone. The heavier foundations were making my skin even shinier and I was breaking out like crazy.

Screenshot 2016-08-14 at 6.03.40 PM

Target sells this too for $6.49

Rimmel BB Cream Matte is super lightweight and SPF 15, so my fair skin is protected. This is also the only cream I’ve found that can hide my dark circles. Rimmel gives me the hydration and smooth finish my sensitive skin craves.

The next essential product for me is Almay One Coat Get Up and Grow – Black/Brown

Ok, so to be technical, I use multiple mascaras, I love Covergirl’s Lashblast when I’m out on the town, but Almay is my go-to everyday mascara.

2224153

CVS sells it for $8.99

I really like Almay because all the products are designed for those with sensitive skin, so I don’t have to worry about allergic reactions. Also, this mascara goes on so easily. I’m wearing it in my picture above.

My last essential product is Lipstick or Lipgloss

Here is where I mix it up. I have a ton of lipsticks. My absolute favorite brand is L’Oreal Colour Riche Lip Color. Mostly because the smell reminds me of my dance recital days when my mom would do my stage makeup. Ahh, good times.

lipstick

I love Fresh as a Rose, but I own most of their shades anyway. It is sold in most drugstores and online.

I mentioned I mix it up though. My lipstick color changes with my mood. While L’Oreal is my ultimate fave, I also wear a ton of Covergirl lipsticks, including Colorlicious Lipstick in Darling Blush.

Somedays, I like to go a little lighter and opt for lipgloss. I am obsessed with the entire Maybelline Baby Lips line, I own all of the chapsticks. So when they came out with the Baby Lips Moisturizing Lip Gloss, I swear I did a happy dance in the aisle of CVS.

winkofpink pinkaboo

My two favorite shades are Wink of Pink and Pink a Boo, both available at CVS for $4.49.

So there you have it readers. My 4 essentials. All for less than $30. Beauty does not need to cost a fortune to be effortless. Besides, true beauty comes from within, amiright?

Let me know about your favorite makeup in the comments! I am always excited to try new products!

4 thoughts on “The 4 Essential Makeup Products

Leave a Reply

